Event Listings



<i>La Traviata</i>

In Giuseppe Verdi’s beloved La Traviata, the heroin has put away thoughts of love, favoring instead the comfort and frivolity of wealth, but true love comes to find her. We mark our return to Music Hall with an opulent, “larger-than-life” production filled with “whirling ball scenes” and “glittering costumes” (Cincinnati Enquirer). French soprano Norah Amsellem returns as the Parisian courtesan, Violetta.

Thu 6/14/18 7:30PM Music Hall La Traviata
Sat 6/16/18 7:30PM Music Hall La Traviata
Wed 6/20/18 7:30PM Music Hall La Traviata
Fri 6/22/18 7:30PM Music Hall La Traviata


<i>The Coronoation of Poppea</i>

Monteverdi’s 1642 Baroque masterpiece tells a dramatic story of passion and intrigue with some of the most transcendently beautiful music in all of opera. Grammy-nominated soprano Talise Trevigne sings the title role with a voice that’s “high and rich and round” (Washington Post). Presented in the intimate Corbett Theater at School for the Creative and Performing Arts.

Thu 6/21/18 7:30PM SCPA The Coronoation of Poppea
Sat 6/23/18 7:30PM SCPA The Coronoation of Poppea
Tue 6/26/18 7:30PM SCPA The Coronoation of Poppea
Thu 6/28/18 7:30PM SCPA The Coronoation of Poppea
Sun 7/1/18 3:00PM SCPA The Coronoation of Poppea


<i>The Flying Dutchman</i>

Presenting Wagner’s thrilling take on the eerie nautical ghost story of a cursed Dutchman doomed to wander the seas until he finds a wife. A new production with stunning visual projections promises to bring the old folktale to the Music Hall stage in a modern way. Soprano Marcy Stonikas, who “sings with power, grace, and effortless fluidity” (Washington Times) leads the cast as Senta, as Nathan Berg makes his company debut singing the role of the Dutchman.

Thu 7/5/18 7:30PM Music Hall The Flying Dutchman
Sat 7/7/18 7:30PM Music Hall The Flying Dutchman


<i>Another Brick in the Wall</i>

Cincinnati Opera presents the U.S. premiere of Another Brick in the Wall—The Opera, based on the legendary Pink Floyd album The Wall. With original words and lyrics by Pink Floyd vocalist and bassist Roger Waters, the "powerful"(Rolling Stone) opera completely transforms the album into an operatic drama, featuring a full chorus and the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra.

Fri 7/20/18 7:30PM Music Hall Another Brick in the Wall
Sat 7/21/18 7:30PM Music Hall Another Brick in the Wall
Thu 7/26/18 7:30PM Music Hall Another Brick in the Wall
Sat 7/28/18 7:30PM Music Hall Another Brick in the Wall
Tue 7/31/18 7:30PM Music Hall Another Brick in the Wall


<i>As One</i>

In this chamber opera for two singers and string quartet by composer Laura Kaminsky and librettists Mark Campbell and Kimberly Reed, a mezzo-soprano and a baritone depict the experiences of its sole transgender protagonist, Hannah, as she endeavors to resolve the discord between herself and the outside world. Presented in Music Hall’s brand-new Wilks Studio.

Wed 7/25/18 7:30PM General Admission As One
Fri 7/27/18 7:30PM General Admission As One
Sat 7/28/18 3:00PM General Admission As One
Sun 7/29/18 7:30PM General Admission As One
Mon 7/30/18 7:30PM General Admission As One